Skip to Content

Everything Change Climate Fiction Contest 2018

We’re proud to announce the winners of the 2018 Everything Change Climate Fiction Contest!

We received an overwhelming response to this year’s contest—more than 540 submissions from 66 different countries—and were incredibly impressed by all the stories. See below for more information about the contest, the judging process, and our forthcoming digital anthology.

Grand Prize Winner—$1000 prize
Barbara Litkowski, “Monarch Blue,” United States

Finalists—$50 prize
Sandra Barnidge, “The Last Grand Tour of Albertine’s Watch,” United States
Vajra Chandrasekera, “Half-Eaten Cities,” Sri Lanka
Anthony Dietz, “Darkness Full of Light,” United States
David Hudson, “Luna,” Malta
Rebecca Lawton, “Tuolumne River Days,” United States
Jean McNeil, “The Most Beautiful Voyage in the World,” United Kingdom
Leah Newsom, “Orphan Bird,” United States
Mitch Sullivan, “The Office of Climate Facts,” Australia
Jean-Louis Trudel, “Losing What We Can’t Live Without,” Canada

We congratulate these 10 writers and want to express our gratitude to all of the authors who participated in the contest and shared their visions of the future with us.

About the Contest
In the wake of Earth’s hottest year on record, the effects of climate change are more apparent than ever. But how do we come to grips with the consequences on the ground, for actual people in specific places? If our political responses and our empathy for people besieged by the consequences of climate change fall short, perhaps we need new stories to help us imagine possible futures shaped by climate change and our reactions to it.

In 2016, we hosted our inaugural Climate Fiction Short Story Contest, inviting writers from around the world to submit stories exploring climate change, narrating a world in flux. We were thrilled to receive submissions from 67 different countries, and to publish 12 finalists in a free digital anthology, Everything Change.

For this second edition we broadened the scope, inviting submissions in all genres of short fiction, including speculative, realistic, literary, experimental, hybrid forms, and more. Climate change is so massive and sometimes so ineffable that we need all of the tools of narrative to adequately understand it and share stories and experiences about it.

About the Judging Process
Submissions were subject to multiple rounds of blind review by an editorial board that included ASU experts on sustainability, environmental science, environmental history, science fiction, and creative writing. The final round of judging was conducted by award-winning science fiction novelist Kim Stanley Robinson.

Coming Soon: 2018 Anthology
The grand prize winner and finalists will appear an online anthology, published in late 2018, which will be free to download, read, and share.